Skip to content


Swedish Authority for Privacy Protection (IMY) has about 95 employees, most of whom are lawyers. Our organisation reflects our areas of operations and the way we work.

Lena Lindgren Schelin
E-mail: lena.schelin[at]

Areas of responsibility

  • that the Swedish Authority for Privacy Protection’s regulations and decisions are legal, consistent and uniform
  • legal support for the activity
  • EU cooperation and other international work

Head Of Unit

David Törngren

Data Protection Officer

Amelie Julin, dso[at]

Areas of responsibility

  • Strategic management and development

Head Of Unit

Karin Lönnheden

Responsibility for coordination

  • Information Security
  • The Authority's Supervision Process

Head Of Unit

Katarina Tullstedt

The unit focuses on monitoring that the rules governing protection of individuals' private life are respected where extensive personal data or personal data that is particularly sensitive from the point of view of privacy is processed within e-administration, care, education and research.

Areas of responsibility

  • Public sector (except the legal system and defence)
  • Care
  • Education (schools, universities, etc.)
  • Research

Responsibility for coordination

  • E-administration
  • E-communication

Head Of Unit

Malin Blixt

Areas of responsibility

  • Debt recovery
  • Credit rating information
  • Working life
  • The Swedish Enforcement Agency's registers
  • Bolagsverket (The Swedish Companies Registration Office)
  • Banks
  • Insurance companies
  • Customers
  • Members
  • Direct marketing

Responsibility for coordination

  • The Authority's call-center
  • Internet-related matters

Head Of Unit

Catharina Fernquist

Areas of responsibility

  • Law enforcement
  • Judicial operations
  • Prisons and probation
  • Defence and foreign intelligence activities
  • Swedish Authority for Privacy Protection's role concerning appeals under the Camera Surveillance Act
  • Swedish Authority for Privacy Protection's role as central supervisory authority under the Camera Surveillance Act

Responsibility for coordination

  • External training and education
  • Personal data officers
  • International operations
  • Camera surveillance

Head Of Unit

Charlotte Waller Dahlberg

Areas of responsibility

  • Administration
  • Economy
  • HR
  • Purchasing and procurements
  • IT

Head of Administration

Karin Malmborg

Areas of responsibility

  • Internal and External Communication
  • Media and Public Relations
  • Education
  • External analysis

Chief Communications Officer

Annicka Nordlander-Karlsson


IMY:s supervisory council

IMY is a so-called "enrådighetsmyndighet" with a supervisory council that oversees the authority's work. The supervisory council has the following members:

Lena Lindgren Schelin
IMY:s Director-General,
chair of the supervisory council since March 2018

Åke Holmgren
Head of department Swedish Civil Contingencies Agency

Zayera Khan
UX Lead

Eva Lindh
Member of Parliament (s)

Marta Obminska
Member of Parliament (m)

Cecilia Magnusson Sjöberg
Professor of Law, Stockholm University

Ari Stenman
Head of Security, The Swedish Police  

Catarina Wretman
Deputy Director-General of the Post and Telecom Authority

Åsa Zetterberg 
Covenant Director Swedish IT & Telecom Industries

Latest update: 17 January 2022
Page labels Om IMY